Out-cast

409psfanFor five years I worked as a jewelry designer for a fine jewelry company. I liked my boss, loved the paycheck but the job itself was limiting. The main reason is, when you are dealing with diamonds and gold and platinum, there’s really no room for whimsy. And I am all about the whimsy.

410butterfly

I still managed to do pretty well, my one-of-a-kind stuff sold fairly quickly. But still, when I drew up sketches to make a ruby flaming heart with a sapphire flower garland on it, my boss gently stepped in and told me, “If someone is going to spend a thousand dollars on a piece, they’ll want it to be something classic.”. Flaming hearts are classic! To me anyway.

rings

Sometimes I miss the job, in little ways. Every once in a while I get an idea, and being no good at casting myself (or never having tried it, per say), all I can do it sketch it and imagine how pretty it would be.

I guess sometimes that’s good enough.

Leave a Reply

