Skulls and Hawaii

Finally felt inspired today.

skull pendantsIt’s been a super long time since I have done any collage work. I’ve been thinking about doing it on a small scale like this, but haven’t found anything that has really hit me to cut and collage.  Tonight I wandered through michael’s and found some amazing little papers and confetti. The skulls and crossbones are actually Martha Stewart confetti. Love it.

I also finally bought something that I have been drooling over for quite some time now.

glitter*****drool again******

I really LOVE glitter and this set has the best colors ever. Plus I had a coupon for 50% off so this cost me, well, half of what I would have spent. I have to justify it somehow!

Obviously I couldn’t wait to come home and work, and that’s exactly what I did. I spent the whole night drilling, decoupaging and glittering. I made the pendants about out of wooden disks that I also bought tonight.

I’m super happy with them, although not sure what cord I will put them on. I would love to find striped ribbon to make necklace cords for them, but I’m not sure where to find it. I’ll have to think on it.

islander necklaceI also made the necklace above for EVA’s Hawaii theme for this month. Love how it turned out, although not sure how “hawaiian” it really looks. I used suede cord and moonstones. The silver components are silverplate which I normally don’t use, but they were so pretty I made an exception.

hawaii_necklaceThis one is much more hawaiian looking. Like Hawaiian-style. Like “Saved by the Bell Hawaiian Style!”.

The flower is dyed quartz and pearl, and I used some random cool looking stones and shells I had. The chain is garnet chips.

hawaii_closeupSo there’s my show-and-tell for this month. I am really going to try to focus on getting more creative again. It’s something I really miss.

That and Mr. Belding.

3 responses

  1. I am curious to perform a concordance analysis of the word “drool” on your blog. Trish, have you been to the doctor or dentist lately to find out why you’re always salivating uncontrollably? I’m worried for you, maybe I hope that maybe it’s just time for new dentures.

  2. After several failed visits to my dentist and one extremely botched attempt at taping my mouth closed, I have discovered the cause to be my rabies! Who knew?!

Leave a Reply

