2011

I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions. I have never really made them, although when people ask, I usually say, “To lose weight, ha ha ha…”. But honestly, I don’t think the fact that calendar is changing is going to suddenly motivate me to change my life. I think that has to come from within, and if that happens to be in July, then so be it.

This year though, I am making some promises to myself. Not resolutions, promises.

I’ve been thinking about what a hard year this has been, and how depressed I have truly been. So my first promise is to focus on the stuff that is making me so sad and find better ways to cope. I have already started yoga and working out, which helps but there just never seems to be time to actually do these things. Make time.

Number two is to find a new job. I know I don’t say much about it up here but my job is hard. I work from the second I get there until the minute I leave, and sometimes after that. I am the scapegoat if anything goes wrong (I’m a property manager, in case I haven’t written that here before, again I try not to talk about it.). The constant verbal abuse, both from my residents and my superiors is very hard to handle, emotionally and physically. It’s time to move on, so maybe this is my year.

Number three is to find a true friend I can really talk to. Other than family or my husband. Not that I don’t love them, but someone outside would be nice. I haven’t had a best friend in a long time, and it would be cool to have someone to hang out with again.

Number four is to stop working so hard outside of work. To not care if the dishes aren’t done or if there are no weekend plans. I need to just let things happen sometimes. Relax. This can be done, hopefully just as easy as it sounds. (Ha ha ha…)

And number five (is aliiive! Ok, sorry that was lame) is to get back into the craftiness again. Sure that might happen naturally once I’m not so down about stuff, but I think I need to really push to spend more creative time alone with myself. It’s been so long since I worked on my jewelry that my wire is tarnished and my soldering iron is ice cold. Must fix this.

I am wishing a very happy and peaceful new year to all of you who read my blog. Thanks for being there and for following along with this crazy life of mine. This year it’s going to get a whole lot crazier, in a very good way I hope! :)

Happy New Year. Love, Trish

3 responses

  1. i love resolutions, but that’s because I love goal setting. I do it each and every month. with life so hectic it’s keeps me on track and gives me permission to looks back and say yeah I can use a break this month ;) best wishes for 2011! I hope it is everything you dream for it.

  2. I think these promises are wonderful and will help make you more balanced. Something I should try to do myself. Good luck on making 2011 your year. :)

Leave a Reply

