8.8

We got married on May 2, 2009. I was not skinny by any stretch of the imagination, but I was comfortable with how I looked. I was determined not to crash diet for my big day, since my main goal was to not stress myself around that time. I even bought my dress bigger than I needed, and we ended up having to take it in a little bit, so I was happy.

However, the other day I stepped onto the Wii balance board scale, and apparently the last time I did was just before the wedding. It turns out, I have gained 8.8 lbs since then. I know, it doesn’t sound like much, but I am now 2 lbs heavier than my husband and that’s not good. Now, my husband isn’t fat or anything, but I like being the smaller one in the relationship. I am determined to not be a wife who lets herself go. I am not looking to be as skinny as I once was, but I’d like to slim down a little before things get out of hand.

As I mentioned in my last post, my husband and I are engaging in a little friendly competition with another couple. We’re doing a Biggest Loser couples type thing. One month, whichever couple loses the most weight wins, losers buy the winners some movie tickets. So I am going to document my progress on my blog, so maybe it will shame me into getting results, hahaha!

So far I am off to a good start, and I even took a “before” picture, just in case I actually do lose any weight so I can side-by-side it and see any differences. I think it’s going to be fun, and if I hate dieting or working out so much this month, next month I can go back to my old ways if it sucks that bad. But it’s kind of exciting to compete about this!

I’ve already started with healthier foods, cutting out soda(I’ll miss you, Dr Pepper!) and getting back to the gym, or taking long walks at work if I can’t do a full workout, but I am not weighing myself until Monday. I’m not expecting huge results but it would be neat if I saw something. One thing that I have a hard time with is portion size, so that’s the main issue that will really suck this month.

But I can do it, I think! At least I’m gonna try. And if it works out, then I get to go to the movies and gorge myself on popcorn and soda and undo all my hard work. Yay!

4 responses

  1. Awesomeness! I love the movies-as-rewards thing, and that you have a group of people joining you in this journey. I’m looking forward to reading all about your experiences and your progress. Lemme know if you have any questions (but it sounds like you’ve got a good plan and have things under control). Go, you!

  2. Yay you!!! I’m in the same boat as you are, gained enough to get frustrated and want to take action before it gets out of hand. Portion control is my biggest problem too. Why do you taste so delicious, Food?? WHY??? *fist shake*

    Anyway! Best of luck in your endeavors! You will be an inspiration to me :)

    PS: I miss you! We need to hang out soon and have small portioned dinners together!

  3. You can do it, Trish! I, too, need to lose a little weight. I’ve changed my diet, but it’s the exercise part that does me in. We’re hoping to buy a Kinect maybe next month…I really hope we can because I think it will help me be more active because it’s supposed to be fun. We’ll see…keep me posted and good luck, you sexy bitch!

  4. I am so proud of you! I need to get back on track. The holiday madness made me lose focus. I know how you mean about the heavier than your husband thing. I could throw my husband across the room with my weight. So I need to work on being the smaller one. :)

    I love that picture of you, so gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

