Bedroom redo and house pictures

Since the holidays ended, I have been making a strong effort to make our house ours. I’ve never lived anywhere where I was allowed to paint walls, so this is exciting. However, it’s resulted in babysteps, as in painting one wall at a time in case I don’t like the result, see above.

Anyway, we had done some work on our bedroom, like getting rid of those shitty vertical blinds and putting up new 2″ ones. I also painted, although now it makes the other walls look so bland compared to it that I am making that my very next project.

Our bedroom was still way too bright in the morning, so I decided to treat us to some pretty new curtains. But whoa, curtains are expensive! Nice ones are, anyway. So I decided to make my own.

I never made curtains before, but I figured how hard could it be? Not hard at all, actually. I bought this pretty dark grey and white fabric from Ikea for about $20, and the cutting and sewing was all done freehand and took only about an hour and a half.

The only problem with my freehand system is that my seams aren’t completely straight, but so what. I love the way they turned out, and I saved myself about 40 or 50 bucks, so I consider this a win.

I also bought a plain comforter and a duvet cover, since my biggest pet peeve in our house is the massive amount of cat hair that accumulates at the foot of the bed. Ridiculous amounts! I use a rubber glove to wipe it all off, but it’s right back on there the next day. And having a king size bed doesn’t make washing big comforters and blankets easy. So now all I have to do is strip off the cover and wash that, so it should make my life easier and keep me from getting fur all over my ass when I sit down to put my shoes on.

I love the pattern too, although it needs some throw pillows. Red ones? I love red, blue and green together. I am so sick of muted color, so I want to make our room really pop.

Bella loves the new blanket. Here she is hard at work at covering it with her long silky hair already. Give it your best shot, you pretty little bastard!

And don’t mind my husband’s samurai sword over there in the corner. I guess that’s our security system!

While I am at it, I think I am going to post more house pictures, since I finally have some nice ones where things are clean and presentable. Here is our bathroom, although you can’t see my favorite part of it, the huge yellow-tiled shower. I love it, it feels like a hotel shower.

Here’s a closeup of my pretty little toothbrush holder. I have bought each of these things separately over the years, but I love how they go together. And being a former graphic design student, I like the text on some of them.

Here’s part of our kitchen after I painted the backsplash. It’s very light aqua, but you can barely see it in the pictures. You can notice the color better if you compare it to the cabinets. I wanted to add softer colors here, so my fun canisters and containers stand out more.

See? Love all this vintage-y stuff in the kitchen. The pen cup was in a yard sale years ago, previously owned by Lisa’s ex boyfriend. I claimed it!

Lastly, here’s our real security, Fizz. Sitting in the window behind the verticals, watching the world go by.

He may not bark like a dog, but if I see him scramble and take off like a bat out of hell, I know we have company!

This concludes our tour….for now.

:)

Oh, and Happy Valentines Day! <3

3 responses

  1. I LOVE it! The curtains came out fantastic! Is the room a lot darker in the morning now? Also, I agree: red throw pillows on the bed would be awesome. Great job, schwes!

  2. How exciting! Looks great! Yes, making curtains is easy, and I prefer to make my own, too. You did a great job on yours! Congrats on all of your hard work! And, yay! I’m not the only person in the world that doesn’t have a set of bedroom furniture + matching headboard. Whew!

  3. I love all the little quirky touches you have, especially the containers in the kitchen. And the curtains are fabulous! I wish I had the patience and skill to do something like that. :)

Leave a Reply

