Song Challenge: Listen to When I’m Angry

OK, here’s where it’s hard to not pick NIN again, like Wish. Actually, any NIN song. But that’s sort of a cop out though.

Hmmm.

No, I’ll go with Mercy On Me by Christina Aguilera. And yes, I could also add this to the list of songs you wouldn’t expect me to like as well.

I am not a fan of Aguilera. But when Back To Basics came out a few years ago, I was curious. The first disc was just what I thought it would be. Cheesy pop crap, designed for her to be a show-off with her voice. But the second disc had much more to it than that. None of the songs got any radio play (as far I know), and the lyrics were more real than anything I had heard from her before.

If she had stayed on that path, I’d actually call myself a fan. But nope, she reinvented herself again, and churned out more garbage instead.

Either way, this is a good song to belt out when I’m alone in the car or something, if I have had a lousy day or I’m just pissed off in general. She gets a little showy with her voice in this one, but I can forgive it because I like the lyrics.

One response

Leave a Reply

