Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day was a mix of good and not so good.

The good was that we had our first BBQ at our house, complete with burgers, hot dogs, fresh corn, watermelon and my favorite, macaroni salad. Our families came together and we had a wonderful time. My niece had the great idea of having a drawing contest, so I helped her put it together and be a judge of everyone’s drawing skills. She promised a $20 prize to the winner, which actually ended up being a roll of toilet paper with a  $20 bill drawn on it. (Very resourceful Auntie I am!) She was also given a little speech by yours truly of the importance of honesty when it comes to prizes!

The not-so-good was that we found out that my father-in-law had suffered a minor stroke earlier in the week. No one knew, he didn’t tell anyone until after the fact and he hadn’t gotten medical attention. We noticed that he was having trouble speaking and was taking a long time to answer, and wasn’t as steady on his feet as he normally is. Last night he agreed to go to the hospital and he will be there for a few days, getting test after test, and we will hopefully have some good news regarding his current prognosis and symptoms. Any good vibes sent this way are greatly appreciated, he is a wonderful man and my husband is very close to him, so it’s a difficult time.

On a brighter note, there are so many great mothers in my life, both family and friends, and I hope all of you are enjoying a great family day. I also hope that by this time next year, I might be celebrating mother’s day myself! We’ll see!! :)

4 responses

  1. Patrick is unstoppable, really… it’s incredible how tough he is, for his age! I think he will be as good as he can be. I’m praying for him, and the family. It’s a tough time. If you guys need anything, you know you are contractually obligated to ask me. I love you so much.

Leave a Reply

