Glass bottle

I bought myself a pretty new glass reuseable water bottle on Friday, which I have been wanting for a while. I saw it at World Market a few weeks ago but decided to not do the impulse-buy thing and left without it. However, I was reading an article in my newest issue of Glamour about the dangers of plastics and the toxins and BPA levels in our food and water. Needless to say, it freaked me out. I decided I want to reduce my use of plastic as much as I can. I can’t go plastic-free, but I can reduce my exposure somewhat.

So I went back to the store and bought my pretty new bottle, (and by the way please ignore the fingerprints in this picture!) and couldn’t wait to take it home, scrub it out and fill it with cold, refreshing BPA-free water. The problem though is that my lovely new bottle leaks like a mothereffer. At the top, where the lid screws on. There’s a rubber washer between the glass and the bottle top, but water still seeps out and drips down the front of my shirt every time I take a sip. I’m probably just going to take off the top and use it without it, but since it isn’t really practically and convenient that way, it looks like I just bought myself a pretty new $9.99 tall glass.

Sigh.

7 responses

  1. I saw this glass IN PERSON last night! It is very pretty. Bummer it won’t work as a water bottle, but still very cool, you eco-friendly fiend you!

  2. :)

    I’ve been wanting to get a water bottle for a long time. It’s been years since I’ve had one, but I always need it come summertime. Thanks for including your bottle’s flaws in this post. I love World Market and had been wanting to make a trip over there, but maybe I’ll keep looking…

  3. P.S. After reading the Glamour article, you might be interested in Jillian Michaels’ “Master Your Metabolism”. It discusses the same topic- in depth. I’ve been on a mission to quit buying cans and stop using certain products ever since. Plastic I kind of habitually avoid, anyway, but I’m already taking steps to remove even what little I have around.

Leave a Reply

