Thursday Confession

I am a regular reader of Jolly Goode Gal, an awesome blog full of design ideas, great photos and lots to read. Every week, Jerusalem writes a Thursday confession. This week, she invited her fellow bloggers to join in! I always thought this was a fun idea so why not!

My Thursday confession is that I still, at 32, don’t know how to “do” my hair.

It’s true. My hair is straight on top, curly on bottom and frizzy everywhere. If I don’t blow dry it correctly, it goes into either a claw clip or one of those half-pulled through the ponytail holder type buns.

Exhibit A: Observe, both half-loop ponytail AND pouf. All egss=one basket.

On a good day here in Arizona, my bathroom is about 80-90 degrees, so using my blow dryer isn’t something I can usually be bothered with. Up it goes. I try to do the little pouf on top with my growing-out bangs, but that’s really my only “trick”. I have no miracle products that I have found or that I am loyal to. There is no one shampoo that changes my hair’s world. I have a flat iron, but really, who has time to do more than just the front and pull the rest back?

I see women all the time with adorable haircuts, styled to be perfect but not-too-perfect, and they look so pulled-together. I don’t know how they do it. Their hair is sleek and falls gracefully, no flyaways in site. Not sure when I missed this day in the Womens’ Universal School Of Magical Beauty and Unicorns. Or maybe it’s my genes. But the real confession today is: So what?

I might not be perfect, but trying to be perfect gets you farther away from it. This is who I am, like it or not. And I like my little claw clips, 1980’s be damned!

Now how about a smile? :)

4 responses

  1. I love it! Thanks for sharing : )
    The trick I have found for my hair is to get it permed lightly about every 6 months – then I can at least have that messy-on-purpose things sorda going… Also, perms have come a long way since I was a kid! My sister lives in AZ too – you people have crazy heat issues!

  2. That’s so funny, because to me, your hair looks better than mine on any given day! That’s why I was asking you how to make that pouf-thing, because your 36-year-old sister is even WORSE with doing her hair. Four years haven’t made a difference, Schwes. I’m still stupid as a box of hair.

    I think I’ll never be a person with “good hair” and look like a sophisticated, well-put-together woman. And I worship the claw, too! I don’t know what I’d do without it.

  3. I have the same exact problem! Hair that just doesn’t look good natural. I have to put A LOT of work into it to make it look good. So up on a ponytail or bun it goes!

Leave a Reply

