“Don’t die, I love you!”

Today marked a first for my my husband and I – our first decade.


Here’s one of the oldest pictures of us I have on my computer, it’s at The Old Spaghetti Factory in the lobby waiting for a table.

So much has changed over the past ten years. When we met I was pretty different,  I was really into the punk scene with my guy friends and I smoked and drank a lot of Rolling Rock. My last boyfriend before Kane was a very nice kid who I had nothing in common with, who jumped off a roof one night and cracked his head open right when we first started seeing each other, and I spent most of our very brief “relationship” cleaning his head-wound. Ick. I decided that I was not going to date anyone just for the hell of it anymore, that the next guy would have to be pretty damn special for me to go out with him.

I met Kane in the kitchen of my sister’s then-boyfriend’s house during rehearsal for a play that my sister was directing. I thought he was cute but also knew that he had a girlfriend and that took him completely off my radar. But we had a lot in common and we became friends, and I started hanging around those play rehearsals more and more.

Right after the play opened, they broke up, which was great for me because I was really starting to like him and I was feeling really shitty about it. We started officially dating on April 14, 2002.

I was the first one to say “I love you”, and it was in the stupidest way possible, of course.

We were hanging out at my apartment and watching a movie or something, and being goofy like we usually are. We had only been dating for about 3 weeks at this point.  Something I said made Kane fake that he was dying. I started shaking him by the front of his t-shirt and I blurted out, “DON’T DIE, I LOVE YOU!”. —–Ooops!! I was totally in love with him by that point but I wasn’t planning on saying it! Kane opened his eyes and was like, “What did you just say?”. I blushed bright red and told him I didn’t say anything, he was just hearing things. Then he told me he loved me too.

Since then it’s been ten years of laughing, fun and craziness. Things are not always perfect but they are pretty close to it. I know relationships are supposed to be hard work, but ours never has been. It’s easy and it’s fun, and after all this time we still can stay up late talking and laughing our asses off.

I can’t believe it’s been ten years already. Years of birthdays and christmases and valentine’s days. Making up stupid dances and jokes that only we get or think are funny.

So much has changed over the years but the two of us are basically the same as we always have been.

I think our relationship is so easy for us because at the core, we have a really strong friendship. Above all else, Kane is my best friend and we respect each other for the people we are. We aren’t clingy or mushy (well, not until this post anyway) and we give each other our own space and it makes us stronger for that.

We’ve been married for almost three years now, and we’re hoping to have a family soon, which will be CRAZY! I love it though, and I really can’t wait. Our bond is stronger than it’s ever been, and he is still my favorite person to talk to and hang out with. I can’t imagine my life without him, and I hope I never have to.

I love you Kane. Happy anniversary baby!

3 responses

  1. I love the last three pictures! You guys crack me up! Congratulations! Ten years in any relationship is an accomplishment. At least that is what I think. :) Brian and I will be celebrating our 9 year wedding anniversary and 12 years together this year. Holy cow! And like you said, it’s alot of work but so worth it when you are married to your best friend.

Leave a Reply

