Salvaged bracelets


Tonight my friend Patty and I took a trip to Sweet Salvage, an antique market only open a few days out of the month. We’ve been trying to go for four months now and something has always come up, but tonight we were determined to make it there.
There were so many cool things there, it really got my creativity going. Some of it was way out of my price range unfortunately (and lately, what isnt’?) but I did find a few goodies. Among those were there awesome art deco-style locker numbers. I knew right away what I was going to do with them too, so I picked up a couple and couldn’t wait to get home and get to work turning them into bracelets.

What do you think?? I am so happy with how these came out I am thinking I have to keep one for my personal collection!

I bent and hammered and added rhinestones and crystal dangles and sterling chain. I was going to add something colorful to them, but the more I look at it I don’t think it needs anything to distract from the simple lines and cool numbers.


Plus plain black and silver is more in keeping with the time period of the art deco movement.

I’m sure whatever company manufactured these did not have this in mind when they made them. But I just love how much style even the simplest things had back then. Now a locker number is just plain and boring helvetica numbers, but back then even something this small was designed and styled.


Now I wish I had bought more of these! Oh well, maybe there will be some there next month. (By the way, please excuse my use of the crappy throw blanket as a background for these photos, not much was around the living room that wasn’t covered in cat hair. Did I mention what a fabulous house keeper I am?)

So there’s my show and tell for the night, I’m very proud of my handiwork. Now to get to sleep since I am finally going to try to get my hair trimmed tomorrow and then one of my oldest best friends from New Jersey is coming into town for a quick visit! She’s been my best friend since 5th grade and I can’t wait to see her and catch up.

Happy weekend everyone!

3 responses

  1. Oh my goodness! I lived in a highrise in Cleveland in apartment 1120 and my parking spot was 120 at work! I always thought that was funny and ironic and now seeing your bracelet the coincidence is downright creepy. :) These came out so amazing. I love quirky little different things like this. Great job! And this makes me miss Cleveland.

Leave a Reply

