2013 is upon us! What??

IMG_62992012 is done, bitches.

I think this rather unflattering photo of me sums this year up nicely. I came, I saw, I dealt with some BS. I still kept my smile on. Overall it was a good year. And I got to wear a necklace of my friend Derrick wearing a Peter Pan outfit and riding a purple unicorn.

IMG_6314This December flew by. My husband and I spent an evening decorating sugar cookies with our awesome niece Sierra. She is a funny kid. After a while we all got a bit bored of the task, and took to decorating our faces with royal icing mustaches.

sierra icing1She gave Uncle Kane some green face flair. Cuz that’s how we roll.

kane sierra icing

trish sierra icing

group1We went to an ornament exchange party at out friends’ Brady and Laura’s house. That’s my sister next to me in the awesome fox sweater that I want to steal. Speaking of stealing, I got to choose my ornament last, so I decided to steal. I stole a bizarre glass “can” of Chicken Chow Mein, which I gloated about drunkenly since my friend Ezra really wanted to keep it.

IMG_6265See how sad he was? Well don’t worry, I promptly dropped that strange gorgeous ornament on the floor and smashed it in my fuzzy, unsteady state.

brokenBUSTED. But this seemed to cheer Ezra riiiight up.

ezra erinI guess I deserved that karma. Hahahaha.

IMG_6260A week before Christmas we got the whole family together for my mother-in-law’s birthday. Here she is force-feeding my husband some flan. Which he is not a fan of.

amanda frogsBack at work, we had a scavenger hunt (Amanda won an awesome frog calendar, I won zip-o!), an ugly sweater contest, and we decorated human christmas trees.

lawrence treeChristmas Eve I cooked a big dinner. Beef rib roast, mashed potatoes and green bean casserole. We drove around and looked at lights, and I got to wear my favorite new skirt.

skirtThis was probably the most mellow of our Christmas eve’s, since we didn’t have to rush to make it to church since no church nearby seemed to be doing a night-time service. Which ended up being a good thing. We had tons of fun just watching lights and eating those cookies we all had worked so hard on.

The next day we went to my inlaws’ house for christmas dinner, and I guess I haven’t uploaded my photos of that yet so the picture tour stops here.

Overall it was a great month, and I’m going to be sad to take all my christmas stuff down this week.

tree closeupI’m hoping that 2013 will bring lots of fun and great things for us! As for tonight, my husband and I are spending tonight home together, wearing some comfy sweat pants and eating lasagna. We’ll watch the ball drop, drink some wine and go to sleep. Sounds like the perfect night to me.

Happy New Year, everyone. I hope your entire 2013 is merry and bright.

 

One response

  1. Aww, so glad things are awesome! Sounds like a great month! I’m sad that I was sick and didn’t get to join you guys at the ornament party… :( Hope to see you guys soon! Happy New Year! :)

Leave a Reply

