Check yoself

Well I’ve fallen off the wagon with my good eating habits. Again. But not surprisingly so.

It’s not that I have forgotten my goals, but the entire month of June is like a non-stop birthday party between my sister’s, my husband’s and my own birthday. Plus there were bbq’s and father’s day and about a million calories at every turn.

It’s okay though, I am back on the wagon, and I’m re-energized! Today I went on a produce-buying spree and planned meals for the entire week, most of which are meatless and (mostly) low carb! However buying all of the stuff was just part 1. Part 2 was preparing as much as I could in advance, because I always seem to be short on time in the mornings to make lunches and if dinners aren’t already prepared, it can derail my gym time.

Image

First up were greek veggie wraps. Spinach, cherry tomatoes, red onion, feta cheese and hummus on a sun dried tomato wrap. Yummm. I cannot wait to eat this tomorrow. I made an extra for my husband too!

Image

I also packed myself a few cold-brew peach tea bags. I am in love with those things. You can add one to a glass of cold water and in about 5 minutes you have freshly brewed sugar-free iced tea. So delicious, and a great way to avoid sugary soda.

I also made spinach quiche cups using fat free cheddar cheese, eggs, spinach, shallots and mushrooms.

Image

The recipes was found here. So easy and quick, I literally just mixed all the ingredients together and poured it into a mini muffin pan and popped them in the oven. That was it, no precooking necessary.

Image

I took them out of the oven to let them cool, but I had to try one. Holy blarg these are so damn good! Since the recipe made 22 of them total, I went ahead and ate a second one, just to make my batch a nice even number (wink), and divided them into ziploc bags to grab on my way out the door in the morning. I think these will be awesome cold, or even warmed in the microwave for a few seconds.

I also made some homemade creamy pesto using lowfat ricotta cheese in place of much of the oil and the pine nuts. It’s delicious on some whole wheat pasta, which I also made tonight to have another lunch ready to go. Tomorrow I’ll be making grilled turkey breast with the pesto pasta on the side, should be quick and yummy too.

So far so good. If I can just spend an hour every few days preparing my meals, I think this will be pretty easy!

One response

Leave a Reply

