The longest year

https://i0.wp.com/s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/2013-11/enhanced/webdr01/30/12/anigif_enhanced-buzz-9533-1385832569-5.gif

It’s been a whole year since I’ve logged into wordpress and written a blog. Twelve months really flies by the older you get. For a while I thought about just shutting this blog down because truthfully I just got so busy with work and life stuff that I didn’t care much about writing. Or making things. Doing anything creative took a back seat to real life-stuff. But that’s kind of shitty, I like having some sort of record of what I’ve done the past few years. It’s fun to look back, and it’s fun to share with anyone who wants to read it, few as you may be.

So 2014…….

Some good and lots of bad. I guess that can describe most years as we get older. I’ll just jump into the key events.

Somewhere this year, I discovered Good Neighbor(see gif above…). It’s kept me laughing when I really needed it so thanks guys. Go Benjals.

In April, Lisa and I went whale-watching in Dana Point. We saw one whale and three dolphins, which is a record for low attendance by marine life. It’s funny actually, I think the sea dwellers saw me coming that day and decided to frolic elsewhere, but I still enjoyed getting to the water and being on a boat. Once the yuckiness passed from the rocky waves, of course. We had a good time anyway and managed to go to a screening of “Only Lovers Left Alive” in Irvine. It was a really good trip and much needed sister time.

sisters

only_lovers_left_alive_36000289_st_4_s-high

In June I turned 35. I spent the day with mom at her pool, and the night out with lots of friends at a brewery. In between I chickened out on getting a tattoo. A perfect birthday.

pool day

In July Kane and I went to San Diego Comicon. We saw tons and tons of famous people, so we lucked out. Even though it was crowded as all hell, we had a really good time. And it was good to get away together and be nerds about Walking Dead, Marvel, Doctor Who and whatever else was on display there. The last day of the trip ended badly though, I ran into the edge of our friends’ couch and my kneecap slipped out of place. I think it’s still out of place or something is still wrong with it, 6 months later. So, oww.

passes

At the end of July, on the 29th, my mom was in a serious accident. Someone rear-ended her at 50 miles an hour. She suffered a brain injury which is going to affect the rest of her life. But the key statement here is “rest of her life”, because she pulled through against the odds, which surprised everyone, including her doctors. I don’t want to talk about the details of a very long summer and fall, but she is back in her apartment living on her own, and she is working hard to regain what she’s lost. I’m proud of her and of my small family that stuck together when we almost lost her. I also reconnected with my uncle in Florida, which was a good thing. He was the only family member who reached out and sent her cards and pictures to look at while she recovered, and showed all of us that he really cared from thousands of miles away. I won’t forget what that meant to me, and to all of us.

mom

In November, my job sent me to Barcelona. Yes. They are the best people. For a whole week I got to get away from the bad stuff at home and be a tourist and explore a beautiful city with friends I truly love hanging out with. I saw so many amazing things. I visited Sagrada de la Familia, Park Guell, Torres Winery and Montserrat. I rode a bike form the gothic quarter to the Mediterranean sea. I saw a flamenco show and drank too much and ate amazing food. It was a much-needed break from the scary things that I was going through, and I’ll be forever indebted to whoever chose me to go.

IMG_7594IMG_7493

names

I’m not a religious person, but one thing that I did and kept private until now is that I left my family’s names in a prayer room on top of Montserrat. It’s a tiny room near the cathedral where you can leave a loved one’s name or a personal object of theirs to be blessed by the monks, like to ask for protection for them. I left this, with my mom, sister and husband’s names, and at the bottom are my grandparents who passed away but are always in our hearts so I wanted them to know that. I left another sheet with my husband’s parent’s and my uncle’s names as well. We all can use all the blessings we can get.

The holidays came and went, and we were together and it was good.

xmasI got a new job at STA Travel, upgrading from my position as a groups team lead to a partnership executive in our marketing department! Very exciting and hopefully something that I will kick ass at!

In December my father in law celebrated his 90th birthday. Lots of family in town, although hard to talk casually about my mom. That will get easier as she recovers more. But happy to celebrate with Kane’s dad, who has been amazing and supportive to my husband his entire life, and to me for the last 12 years.

dadNow that the year is over, I’m hoping 2015 will be a better one. Hopefully with just as much good stuff, and much less of the bad. And hopefully we will all still be together too. Because that’s the definition of “good stuff”, and this year taught me how important that truly is.

jack

2 responses

  1. Awww! What a year! It sounds like things were really rough for a lot of it, and I’m so glad that even the bad things worked out mostly ok in the end. I hope we get to hang out more this year! It’s always so much fun laughing with you guys. :) *hugs*

Leave a Reply

